[give_form id="1392"]

Gita Jayanthi


Gita Jayanthi, A Glance at the 18 Chapters

A surgeon needs to stay focused on their task, no matter if it causes superficial pain to a patient. If he suddenly gets emotional about this pain before surgery, and would rather quit, he needs guidance from someone knowledgeable to correct his state of mind to be put into proper action.

This is the reason that triggered a dialogue between Sri Krishna and Arjuna. Arjuna did not want to fight in war thinking that it would harm everyone. Sri Krishna Himself paved way to this state of mind in Arjuna and set a stage to deliver the greatest upadesa (divine teaching) in history, the Srimad Bhagavad Gita to bestow the world with the ultimate gift. This is the guide to one’s life.

The 18 chapters of Bhagavad Gita are divided into 3 sections. The first section containing chapters 1 to 6 is named Atma Shaktam, describing the knowledge of the soul. The second section containing chapters 7 to 12 is named Bhakthi Shatkam, describing the greatness devotion to God. The third section containing chapters from 13 to 18 is named Purva Sesham or Purva Paramarsa Shatkam, consolidating the two earlier sections.

Atma shatkam

1. Arjuna Visha:da yo:gaha

Lord Sri Krishna stirs a curiosity in Arjuna so that He can open the floor to the complete guide to eternal wisdom.

2. Sa:nkhya yo:gaha

Sri Krishna talks about the difference between soul (oneself) and one’s body, the relation between the two and the reason for their union. He explains how one can elevate oneself from current state to a higher state with the help of proper knowledge, the state of sthitha prajnatha. He conveys how one should perform their duty and submit it to Him and thus remain detached from the results of all their duties. This chapter conveys the essence of the Githa and the remaining chapters elaborate this essence.

3. Karma yo:gaha

Sri Krishna mentions how a human birth is given to one only to perform one’s duty as a yajna, as a way of worshipping God through assigned duties.

4. Jna:na yo:gaha

Sri Krishna elaborates how to convert every activity, (including taking a breath or working a job) into a yajna, worship.

5. Karmasanya:sa: yo:gaha

Sri Krishna explains that one must leave the result of all activities to Him. Arjuna wonders how is that fair when he is the one putting in all the effort.

6. A:thmasamyama yo:gaha

Sri Krishna then answers Arjuna stating that it is the manas that makes one assume that he/she is the only reason for all that’s happening to or with him/her. He elaborates about how to keep the manas in control so that it becomes a viable tool to realise eternal truths.

Bhakthi Shatkam

7. Jna:na vijna:na yo:gaha

Sri Krishna now reveals that there are many people who focus on duty and do it well with appropriate knowledge. But the ones who experience all the sreyas, (complete well-being) are those who know Him, who understand Him, and perform duties with Him as the focus of the mind.

8. Akshara para bramha yo:gaha

Sri Krishna speaks about His supremacy. He adds that attaining His abode is superior to anything else, including one who attained atma sakshatkaram, self-realisation.

9. Ra:ja vidya: ra:ja guhya yo:gaha

Sri Krishna states that bhakthi, devotion towards God is practical to attain. He speaks greatly about those who are devoted to God clarifying that devotion alone is the king of all knowledge and that it is the king of all great secrets.

10. Vibhu:thi visthara yo:gaha

Sri Krishna talks about how a devotee looks at the entire world as His all-pervasive form. Arjuna expresses curiosity of the all-pervasive, all-powerful form.

11. Viswaru:pa sandarsana yo:gaha

Sri Krishna grants Arjuna the ability (an n-dimensional perspective) to see God. Arjuna is amazed at Lord’s viswa rupam, the magnificent omniverse form where He was seen controlling everything including dissolving all beings and giving them new bodies.

12. Bhakthi yo:gaha

Sri Krishna understands that Arjuna now believes Him to be supreme and would listen with attention. He reiterates how devotion towards Him is the way to attain Him. He explains the ease of His accessibility. He adds that devotion towards Him is as natural and easy as loving one’s own mother.

Purva Paramarsa Shatkam or Purva Sesham

13. Kshe:thra kshe:thrajna vibha:ga yo:gaha

Sri Krishna begins to recapitulate by stating the foundation of knowledge on body (kshetra – a field) and the soul (kshetrajna – the appointed farmer).

14. Guna thraya vibha:ga yo:gaha

Sri Krishna explains the reason for one’s bond with one’s body. He speaks about how to take control of the body made of sattva (accommodating), rajas (egoistic), thamas (lazy/passive) nature.

15. Purusho:ththama pra:prthi yo:gaha

Sri Krishna then elaborates the ultimate purpose of knowing everything is to attain Him, the purushotthama, the supreme eternal reality. There is only one of such supreme beings, God Himself. Others are either ones who have attained Him (utthara purusha) or ones who desire to attain Him (utth purusha), while the rest simply exists (uttha purusha).

16. Daiva:sura sampad vibha:ga yo:gaha

Sri Krishna talks about how one must work on enhancing dyvi pravrutthi, good/divine nature that can help attain Him.

17. Sraddha: thraya vibha:ga yo:gaha

Sri Krishna explains how saattvika sraddha (a genuine interest) is essential to enhancing the dyvi pravrutthi, the divine qualities and nature. The other two types of sraddha are the tamasika sraddha which develops a demonic nature and rajasika sraddha that develops a combination of divine and demonic nature in oneself.

18. Mo:ksha sanya:sa yo:gaha

Sri Krishna reveals the essence of the entire scripture in the 66th verse of this chapter, called Charama Sloka. He reveals the most essential truth that: everything including moksha, the liberation from karma can be attained ONLY when one leaves the burden of the result to God Himself.

sarva dharma:n parithyajya
ma:m e:kam saranam vraja |
aham thva: sarva pa:pe:bhyo:
mo:kshayishya:mi ma: suchaha ||

Lead life as a service to God who revealed all these truths and experience your full potential and true freedom.


- Githa Jayanthi, 25th Dec 2020

- Vijaya Kiladri, Vijayawada

– January 7th 2021, Dhanurmasam at Vijaya Kiladri Hills

Source: https://chinnajeeyar.org/githa-jayanti-a-glance-at-the-18-chapters/

Gita Jayanthi

A glance at the 18 chapters

Leave a Comment

The Ten Step Progressive Path

Githa Jayanti
A Glance at the 18 Bhagavad Gita Chapters

Yaksha Prashna
The famous historic questionnaire

A Temple
Concentrated Divine Space of God

Ashtakshari Mantra
Role in your Life

Vedic Details

Agama: N/A

Daily Poojas: N/A



Get Involved

It doesn’t take much to help—just pick one or two temples in your local area and write about their history and importance on our page.

You can also keep us updated on current happenings at the temple and any problems, such as threats of demolition or underpaid priests. Kovil aims to expand to fundraising for these issues soon, as well as campaigning to remove Hindu temples from government control. Help us preserve these glorious temples so that future generations can enjoy them too.

Babuji Udhayan

Similar Posts

Ashtakshari Mantra
Ashtakshari Mantra

Ashta:kshari Mantra reveals the beautiful ever-lasting bond between you and the supreme power, God.

A Temple
A Temple

A temple, a:layam is composed of Aa (means ‘completely’) and layam (means ‘bring/draw together’).

Yaksha Prashna
Yaksha Prashna

Yudhishtara also faced an “interview” containing about 125 questions from Yamadharmaraja disguised as Yaksha.

Bottom Image